Update 2: Interactive Readership

23 06 2010

This week took a little bit of a side track in terms of creation as I spent a good couple of days on theory work. As such, I haven’t started the storyboarding as I had planned this week. What I have done is nail down a scene by scene plot for each character and how those plots intertwine. The diagram below shows this.

As  you can see there have been some changes made from the previous Plot Graph, most importantly the inclusion of ‘linkage’ frames which link the starts of the plots together. The key points for these ‘linkage’ frames are the establishing shot at the beginning, the ‘panel set’ seen at the Night Guard’s third panel and the first frame of the Reporter’s path which has been added since the original graph to add coherency to the flow of the story at this point. You will also notice that there are now ‘shared’ panels, which are the frames that include multiple characters in the same location. These frames will be passed through by different plot paths. The key examples here are the end frame which links three of the characters and the central sequence (which covers the fight scene) of The Crown and Blackbird (the two superhero characters in the piece).  This represents the temporal map of the entire comic although there may also be points where you can jump from one character plot to another. An example of where this could happen is from the Night Guard’s second panel to the Blackbird’s second. These elements will depend on the readership and interactive methods which I use. I have been considering these as I write but they need further development before deciding on which to use. I am currently considering the interactive methods I can use as part of the comic to move between character paths. Focus points are one of my considerations at current but further development of these ideas is required.

As I mentioned earlier in this entry, I have also been doing a large amount of theory work this week. This was spurred on by my tutorial with Alan in which he suggested a selection of tasks and theories to consider and explore. This lead me more clearly define the basis of my ideas and their theoretical backing. After some consideration and thought it became clear that the story of my comic is the vehicle for the form and NOT the point of it. The importance is the comic form and interactivity working together to enhance the comic form, NOT to change the form. This leaves me in a stronger position for continuing the creation of the comic.

The tasks and concerns for the coming week are getting back on track with the creation process of the storyboard and creating visual plans of what the content, shape and layout of the panels will be. I am also concerned that my rendering of the characters, panels and locations will not be of a high enough standard to affectively portray the action and emotion of the scenes. To address this concern I will be continuing with an aspect of my Semester B module so that I can improve and learn my artistic skills and knowledge of creative programs. This will be scheduled in as 1 or 2 hours a day of ‘Visual Methodology’ and hopefully address this concern.

I must also begin to think about the interactive readership of the comic and on the suggestion of Alan I will be creating “K many” (A – K (11)) ways of digitally viewing/navigating the digital panels.

Finally, the task set to me as part of this project which the interactive readership methods should begin to address is the following statement from:

“Interactivity makes readership both more complex and more demanding. Only too easily it becomes a distraction. Rarely does it increase our pleasure…… Prove me wrong.” – Alan Peacock.

With that in mind I shall be addressing this project as a means to create a comic that is enhanced by interactive readership methods. Methods that add extra levels of enjoyment to the reading.

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 06 2010
mrfugi

Well who ever this Alan Peacock is, I think he is wrong I belive that interactivity increases the pleasure that you can get from reading. as it gives you some thought if “which way would i like to see” and seeing the same story from differnt points of view. Do not get derailed by his comments!

I do have one small question. When you refer to ‘the crown’ and ‘blackbird’ I am assuming that they are are superheroes you talked about in the last post?

26 06 2010
jaymswisdom

Haha. Alan Peacock is my course tutor and his comment is meant as a theoretical question to lead me. He doesn’t believe that. Its a question posed to get me thinking. Its a good question though. How do you stop the method of the interaction becoming a distraction? A question i will hopfully answer in the coming weeks.

The Crown and Blackbird are indeed the heroes and i shall be posting more of them shortly.

30 06 2010
mrfugi

well the names, in my opinion, are very solid bold names that can stick with you. just want you need for a comic book character.

Leave a Reply

